June 8th 2023

 VSTA Executive Committee Meeting

Thursday, June 8th, 2023

4:00-7:00 PM – VSTA Office Room B


The VSTA acknowledges that we work and live on the unceded joint traditional territory of the ʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), and səl̓ilwətaɁɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations.
VSTA meetings are guided by the VSTA Sponsored Meeting Policy.


Nigel Amenu-Tekaa in the Chair 
4:00 1. Commitment to Solidarity
  2. Adoption of Agenda
Motion: THAT the agenda be adopted as presented.
  3. Approval of Minutes from May 11th, 2023
  4. Decolonization
Motion #1:

THAT the voting process at the VSTA AGM reflect First Nations governance protocols by showing the number of votes that each candidate receives during the election process.

Rationale: “Decolonization, which sets out to change the order of the world is, obviously, a program of complete disorder. But it cannot come as a result of the magical practices, nor of a natural shock, nor of a friendly understanding. Decolonization, as we know, is a historical process: that is to say it cannot be understood, it cannot become intelligible nor clear to itself except in the exact measure that we can discern the movements which give it historical form and content…Let us admit it, the settler knows perfectly well that no phraseology can be a substitute for reality.” –       Franz Fanon, The Wretched of the Earth, p. 36, 45

  5. AGM Debrief
  6. Provincial Extended Health Benefits improvements
  7. VSB Land Asset Letter
  8. Year-End Function for Members              
  9. Ad-Hoc Committees
    a) 2SLGBTQ+ – Ryan Peters
    b) BIPOC – Nigel Amenu-Tekaa
  10. Standing Committees           
    a) Indigenous EducationJelana Bighorn
    b) TechnologyBlair Miller
    c) TTOCChristine McKinnon
    d) Working/Learning Conditions & Bargaining – Jesse Taylor
    e) Health & Safety – Michael-Don Borason
    f) Professional DevelopmentJonathan Wynn
    g) Social & Environmental Justice Ryan Peters on behalf of Cynthia Ganatra
  11. Unfinished Business
  12. New Business
5:30 13. Adjournment